Do I Miss High School?

With school starting up now, I’ve decided to write about it. It’ll be a mix of high school and college since I’m naturally all over the place with my thoughts so stick with me. I graduated high school a semester early so I can venture out to college and get going with my academics. It was the best and worst decision I’ve ever made. I did miss high school since all of my friends, family, and boyfriend were there. I moved across my state to attend college. I missed out on a lot of high school experiences like prom, Senior Prank, and a bunch of others so that was hard. I missed my family terribly and the frequent phone calls, text messages, and Facetime calls eased that pain but I knew it was never going to be the same. I hated that I wasn’t playing on the high school soccer team, couldn’t go to lunch with my friends or boyfriend every day, or I couldn’t help my siblings with their homework. It was extremely hard to be living five hours away from my loved ones but it was also…liberating. I wasn’t just another struggling seventeen-year-old in high school. I wasn’t just another kid in the household. I was an independent young woman who was living on her own (even if I was in dorms), working to save money, studying, being my own individual self. I think for years, I struggled with my own identity especially with such a large family surrounding me. I finally had a real chance to see what I was capable of. I was able to see what kind of person, adult, and student I was. I had this great ability to be in charge of myself and take real responsibility of my decisions. I was becoming an adult.
High school seems so easy in retrospect. The content was considerably easy, it was slow paced, and sometimes boring. I think the hardest part of it was being in an enclosed building for eight hours a day for five days straight. With college, you have the ability to manipulate your schedule according to your lifestyle. For example, I work full-time so I make the days I have off dedicated for two full days of classes from 9:30 am to about 5 pm. When I was living in the dorms and working part-time, my classes were every day after work. When I was working during high school, I didn’t get many hours because I went to school for eight hours and could only work for five to six hours after school and then a normal eight-hour day on the weekend.

Looking back, I do and don’t miss high school. If I stayed back in my hometown, I would’ve spent every day with my boyfriend, family, and friends but I wouldn’t have the opportunities that presented themselves while living in my new home. I wouldn’t have made the friends I have, the wonderful job I have, nor the experiences that I lived. I would be a completely different person. So even though I did miss out on a lot of high school events and missing the people, I don’t regret the change I made for myself. Life is all about changes. It what makes you grow as a person.

xo,
H
Leave a Reply

