A Letter to My Best Friend

Dear my greatest of friends,

It’s amazing that I have you as my soul mate wrapped up in friendship. We’re closer than family and have the best of times. You’ve been there for all of my treacherous decisions, one after another terrible boy, and have supported me through everything. You tell me the honest truth and always make sure I’m okay. You take care of me in a way that is different than a sibling would or even my mother would. You make sure I’m happy and go to sleep contently. You’ve never judged what I say or do but have stood by my side through it all. I don’t tell you enough but thank you.

I haven’t met someone else like you either so if I wanted to, which I don’t, replacing you would be extremely difficult. I care about your opinion and all of your advice you’ve given me throughout the years because you know me best. You’ve observed my struggles, my lessons, and witnessed it all. You know what I deserve and what I need better than I do. Even when I’m ready to make a terrible decision, you get me to think it through and decide that’s what I really want. I typically don’t so you’re also my safety net. I can always rely on you to tell me when I’m being dumb and stop me from the worst solutions. You make sure I’m on track and doing okay all the time. I don’t tell you enough but I’m blessed to have you.

We’ve been through so much together as we’ve grown up side by side. There’s been so many boys, sleepovers, adventures, friend dates, night drives, rants, holiday dinners, morning breakfasts, prom, college, and countless others. I can’t even begin to count how many Sonic runs we’ve done in the years we’ve been friends. I love doing everything together whether it’s going to a party or relaxing in our sweatpants watching a romantic comedy, I love every second with you. I don’t tell you enough but I appreciate you.

You’re my person. You’re my lobster. You’re my Lilo. You’re the coolest part of my life. No, we don’t talk every day. No, we don’t live close to each other anymore. But yes, you’re not going anywhere. Yes, you’re always going to be in my life. Yes, you will be my children’s coolest aunt (no, Dad, children won’t be happening for many, many years so keep your hair on). Hopefully someday, we’ll live close by each other, living out our dreams in the big city and still laugh at the same inside jokes, and still go on tater tot runs. Did you know my family is obsessed with you? I mean my baby brother wants to marry you so that has to mean something. Never in my life would I imagine someone like you choosing me to be your best friend. Never have I imagined someone so great to be in my life. I don’t tell you enough but I love you. 

Sincerely,

Your best friend

 

Leave a Reply

