Mediocre Jobs: Some Thoughts

blog

Wow, it’s been a hot minute since my last post. Last weekend I should’ve posted but I was feeling tired and didn’t want to post any trash, ya feel? But life is going great! My mom is in town to visit so I get to finally spend some time with her. Some big news as well that I’m nervous and excited about! Drum roll, please! I’m starting a beauty blog!! I have a passion for beauty and love to share what I learn so I’ll be posting on there this week at A Girl in Makeup so keep an eye out for that. It’s on my old blog (with a new URL) so that’s why there’s all of my older blog posts on there until I figure out how to clear them. I’ll be posting about my favorite drugstore products, new tips, and a lot more. I’m so excited and extremely nervous to venture out into that realm….

As a young adult in college, I don’t have great options for work. I’m stuck in this in-between stage of working towards getting the job of my dream and where I’m at now. The main jobs available for someone in this situation are primarily in retail and the food industry. Not too inviting to me, personally. I get fired up over new books to read (by the way, if anyone has found The Obsession by Nora Roberts, let me know because I’ve been looking for it everywhere since July and no luck) and writing something unique. It has a refreshing effect on me that I can’t quite explain. But while I’m working towards my future, I have to do the mediocre jobs. But I’m not wasting these jobs and degrading them to only “a job that pays the bills”. I don’t believe in engaging in wasting time. I’m believing these jobs are adding experience to my life. I’m learning how to have even more compassion, understanding, and patience. I’m perfecting my conversation skills, my power of language, and my business skills.

While writing this, I’m sitting in the cafeteria at work, struggling through a rough day. Why? I’m learning more and more why I want my dream job even more. That’s the easiest way to explain it simply in one sentence.

I actually do enjoy my job so I don’t want to express any hate towards it but I’m not ecstatic about it either. It’s not what I want to do for the rest of my life but it’s good for the time being. I have great co-workers, I enjoy the job perks, and have a decent pay. But I look around to my peers that have a smile on their face but unhappiness in their eyes. I don’t want that. I want excitement in my eyes and happiness everywhere. It’s why I’m going through years of school, right? I’m not enduring this much and only settle for a job for the next fifty years. That’s truly not fair to myself. I’ve seen what jobs you don’t like affect the person. I really don’t want that.

I hear college students talking about how college isn’t worth it and how bad their job is. Well, of course most jobs students can do won’t be fun, well-paying, or that exciting. It’s important to see why this job is good though. It’s getting you where you need to be and it’s taking care of you, isn’t it? In most cases, college is a good thing. It’s opening doors that would be normally closed to those without a degree, giving you a chance to learn, and giving you a fighting chance for your dream job.

All I can say is finding that purpose for this crappy job you have now is important for you. It’ll give you importance for those long hours. It’s worth it in the end after all the hard work, perseverance, and time invested.

xo,

H.

Leave a Reply

