Closure

closure

I never thought in a million years that I’d struggle with closure. When I let go of people or they leave my life, it never leaves me satisfied. I can think of a few people that I need to say good-bye. I’ve found those people to not benefit my life or they’ve hurt me terribly and so I know they shouldn’t be in my life. It’s tough for me to just cut people out of my life on a whim and not say something to them. I want to explain to them why I want them out of my life before I walk away.

I put myself in a situation a couple years back that still bothers me to this day and this week I finally went to that person  and talked to them about it. It’s silly to bring it up years later but it bothered me enough to finally say something. Honestly, I ended the conversation feeling great and comfortable with our friendship once again. I couldn’t cut them out completely so I used this week to build the foundation to our friendship. It feels good. It was like a weight lifted off my shoulders and I could take a deep breath.

There’s other situations where I became so furious that I automatically deleted from my life. For me, you have to do something really bad for me to just do it without talking to you first. I don’t regret it at all. I’ve learned a lot about the kind of people I want in my life and I weed out the ones I can’t have in my life. I always ask myself, “Does this person benefit my happiness or well-being?” If no, then snip snip! It seems harsh but why hurt your own life with negativity and bad people when there’s extraordinary people in the world who are kind and wonderful? I don’t see the point, frankly.

I have this friend out here in Denver, C. (I’m shortening it for their privacy), that has really brought me out of my shell. I love spending time with her. We love to go shopping, get our nails done, and watch all of the Star Wars movies to our hearts’ desire. I don’t see why I would be friends with anyone that isn’t as wonderful of a friend as her. She listens, supports me, and encourages me. I love her to death.

I always make sure there’s closure when ending a friendship out of respect of our good times and that person. Following the golden rule of “Treat others how you want to be treated”. As basic as it is, it’s true. I wouldn’t want a friend to end things without an explanation. I’d want it so I can use the criticism to help the other relationships in my life. I want to take something away from it so I can better myself as a friend.

I always end things kindly and without an attitude. I’m never afraid to defend myself if need be but it reflects better on you. That person was once your friend that you shared time with and you can’t forget that. It’s considerate to leave things on a good note so you feel good and ready to let go.

I learned a lot from this week with new lessons each day. It always feels good to share my thoughts with my internet friends. I appreciate you reading this and supporting me with each post. It’s always the best part of my week to be on here writing about my thoughts. Cheaper than therapy, that’s for certain!

Also, I’m posting on my beauty blog early this week so keep an eye out!! I’m so excited to get in a routine with these two and to post regularly and on a set schedule!

xo,

H.

Leave a Reply

